top of page

Custom Doll #20: Taffy

I'm on a roll again!!! Taffy is girl that I made from my very favourite ingredients. Every one of my different types of doll collections, has the one ultimate tan blonde usually, that reeeeaaaally does it for me. Taffy is that girl in my big head collection now!! ;) I have this one fashion doll collectible (Fashion Royalty Miami Glow Vanessa), a gorgeous tan blonde, that I love so much, and with Taffy, I was kind of going for making a child version of her.

So, here's how Taffy was born! The base doll was on a good sale and the minute I saw her, I knew she had to come home to me. Her hair is just glorious!!!!! It's the most smoothest, non-tangliest and the dreamiest hair ever! This light tan skin tone is my biggest favourite of the available tones too. She came with the jointed body, so there was no need to get her a new one. I was so right to get this girl. I've been congratulating myself on the find all week. Even as just a base doll she was breath-taking and it was a bit daunting to start working on her.

But, I did. Start I mean. And here's how I carved her:

This is the widest mouth I've dared to do so far. I basically took off her entire upper lip and lifted her nose a bit higher too, because I wanted some teeth for her and the kind that would show even if looking at her straight on. The mouth shape mimics that of her fashion doll inspiration. Her nose and all around the mouth, there's been some re-working going on as well.

Here she is with a face-up! I had some trouble with the MSC can. It was the last drops in there, so the spray cloud has a tendency to get a bit poor quality and I ended up with some wet blotches on her face, but I managed to get rid of most of them. I think the finish is now good enough for me. I also knocked over the gloss varnish on the desk, sprinkled some brown pastel on her nose, sprayed over a dozen specks of dust and the whole process was a neat collection of all kinds of minor mishaps... but she survived!!! Hehe! I like her all the more! ;)

For the eye lids, this was my attempt at making a "lace" looking thing for them. Hmm.... not sure it looks like lace, but I don't hate them. The lids do kind of work now that they're in her head, methinks.

Another yoghurt container has been sacrificed in the name of Blythe customization! Hehe! I made a top row of 4 teeth for her from my signature material. I love how white they look againt her tan skin.

Here's her eye chip selection. I wanted a basic blue, brown, green set for her, but I was a bit low on custom eye chips. I had all kinds of weird colours and most of them so did not go with her look, so she ended up with just one pair of reddish brown custom chips and she kept 3 of her original chip which were really nice tones anyway.

What's been done:

- sanding and carving

- eye boogling

- gaze correction

- 1 new pair of custom eye chips

- new pull charms (kitten paws)

- sleepy eye fix

- teeth installed

- new face-up

Taffy is READY!!! There she is in her very own kitty dress in the garden. It wasn't sunny today, but we still got some nice pics of this little cutie. :) Taffy is a sweet like the toffee type candy that she's named after. She's an innocent kind of a girl, who considers every new moment a fresh wonder. She loves all animals, but more than anything, she wishes to get a kitten some day. She's one of those girls that people are just naturally drawn to, who dazzle wherever they go, but who don't really seem at all aware of their own attractiveness themselves. Taffy prefers little flowers over big ones, because she thinks they deserve some attention too. She likes pastels and mutes tones in colours, mellow flavours and the sweet scents.

Taffy is my first Blythe sculpt girl with no bangs. I do have one Icy doll and one Jecci5 without bangs, but the rest of my girl crew all have bangs. I think I quite love this no-bangs look as well now. Taffy has a particularly neat hairline junction and the gap between the scalp and the face plate hardly shows at all. I'm pretty thrilled about the way she turned out!! :D The perfect summer girl for me!!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page