top of page

A Treehouse For Dolls!

This week my father and I have been collaborating on a fun woodwork project again! All last winter I was addicted to watching Treehouse Masters on Animal Planet with Pete Nelson and his crew. The thought of a treehouse for my dolls started brewing and well, lo and behold, now they have one!! It's still a WIP, but I could not resist posting some pics already!! :D

Dad did all of the woodwork on the treehouse and I'm pretty blown away. It turned out so much finer than I expected it to and bigger too. It's around 30cm x 30cm box with a tilted roof (back wall around 24cm). There's no front wall, but I'm planning on making railings for the front of it eventually. There's a rope ladder of course and some furniture will get made for it too eventually.

I haven't decided yet whether I want it painted or stained yet. I quite like seeing them authenticwood colour.

It's perched up in a tree between branches pretty tightly, but a rope further makes sure it doesn't fall down from there with my dolls in it. The rope is adjusted to just the perfect height in the tree and there's a big hook on the roof for securing the treehouse up there. It's light weight and easy to remove from the tree when I'm done with the photo session. I keep it stored in the warehouse, because it's not weather proof like the dollhouse itself.

The ladder is my favourite part! It looks so authentic!! :D In the treehouse itself, there's plenty of room for 2-4 Blythe sized dolls to hang out in. I'm planning a big floor cushion for the back of the treehouse, where the dolls can lounge, read their comics, play cards or even have a sleepover with sleeping bags and all. There will be treasure maps and toys there of course.

The view from the treehouse is of course breathtaking for the little big heads. ;) They can see their dollhouse and garden from there.

The treehouse has some essestials already: a lantern is hanging from the ceiling, there's a treasure chest, some chairs, a table and rug. Ellie (my blonde Icy custom girl here) has already declared that the treehouse is to serve as her sleuthing headqurters. She's thinking of gathering a crew for herself in the spirit of Enid Blyton's Famous Five. Jessica is already a member of her team, as well as Murphy the dog (not in the photo) and Conrad the bear, but they will need to recruit some boys too now...

Thanks for visiting The Little Big Head Treehouse!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page