top of page

Updates and A Room Box

***Update on project doll #1***

I’m still waiting for the body and the eye chips. I was expecting them to arrive already last week, but it seems they’ve shipped them with some sort of a donkey ride. The weather is also not in my favour. It hasn’t been raining much, but it’s been windy like heck! It’s about as bad an idea to spray sealant on a windy day as it on a rainy day. Oh well, can’t be helped! I’m still hoping I’d get a chance to start painting Cherry today…

***Blythe Inventory***

I’ve not been idle though through the weekend. I’ve cleared a closet for my Blythe collection. The girls have been sitting on little display shelf before, but the extent of the Blythe fever is such, that I don’t think I’ll settle for just a couple of Blythe. There will be more.

Here the girls are showing off their new habitat. I should be able to fit 18 dolls comfortably in this closet now over time. That’s a lot! So that must suffice. I will select my crew carefully and make each doll something unique. This should keep me entertained for a good couple of years now! Hehe!

I’ve also gotten a bigger box for their clothes and knick knacks. I’ve managed to take a selfie too by accident. There I am, reflecting from the box, wearing a grey hoodie and with a menacing stare in my gleaming eye. Ah, sight for the sore eyes, she said sarcastically… But the box is good!! ;)

***Room Box Project***

I’ve started an ever changing room box project for my Blythes. I have a diorama garden at the bottoms of a big closet at the moment…

…but it’s not photographing very well, because of the poster in the background. It reflects light too much, has wrinkles and gets awkward shadows on it. I will need to revise the whole thing.

I have a lot of random 1/6 props from my Barbie days. I’m meaning to build a room box there instead and use it then with my Blythes or any other 1/6 scale dolls for that matter. My father made me a dolly prop shelf today to put inside my big closet for storing the doll furniture and props. Here’s the new prop shelf:

I will use these props to change the interiors of the room box then for each photo shoot. My father will help me with the carpentering of the walls of the room box. I don’t want to have a permanent shape to the room box. A big regular room box would be hard to store, so I’m going with folding screens instead. The folding screens I can easily fold away when I don’t need them and I can shape the walls of the room to my liking each time. One of the screens will have a window through which the dolls will see changing views (cut outs from old landscape calendars). More to follow on this! The folding screens are still WIP and nothing to show yet.

***Pullrings into cabochon pendants***

I’ve gotten some cabochon type pendants to replace the rings on my Blythes’ pull strings. They’re specifically chosen to reflect the dolls’ character or something meaningful to me personally. I wanted round cabochons, so that they would not get tangled in the girls’ hairs and would be neat and pretty.

***Blythe Fever***

I have been sharing this 1st ever Blythe customizing experience with a good friend of mine from Flickr. We both come from the BJD side of things. Izzy, of Belle Pan’s Maze website, has also started her first ever Blythe custom project and is sharing updates of her progress there. Do check out her wonderful blog. We’re having tons of fun planning our dolls, sharing our experiences with this and exploring a new type of doll. We’ve come to the conclusion that enthusiasm is highly contagious and we hope to infect a lot of folks with the Blythe fever! ;) So, watch out!

Nothing much else to report! Heading to try that Cherry's face-up now...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page