top of page

Custom Blythe #1 & 2 updates!

For a while there, things weren't going my way! Cherry's jointed body was missing for a good while after there has been a fire in the Shanghai airport terminal where the outgoing parcels were kept. Luckily, they found my parcel and it's back on radar! I'm hoping to have it in my hands now next week! Yesterday, my long awaited custom Blythe #2, Ailis, arrived!! This is the doll that I bought already in May, but they sent me the wrong one (which I kept/bought and named Ethel). They had to re-send this one, but she's here now and looking just perfect for my project doll #2 idea! Here are some arrival pics of her in her factory look:

Ailis will be more of a themed doll, a Celt witch of sorts. Here's the plan I have for her illustrated by a sketch and a mood board.

Those Sabparos eye chips have been ordered for her already and her pull ring charm arrived today. She will have bright blue eyes when she's not working her magic. When she casts her spells the orange will start seeping into her eyes. The black eyes are for some serious magic. I have also some of her outfit pieces on order, so I could already start working on her. In fact last night, I put her to pieces and even removed all her original eye chips. Today I will start sanding her. I have also already 2 more little ladies coming for custom works. Custom Blythe #3 will be a honey coloured sweety called Prunella and #4 a dark tan black haired latin little girl called Mona. I'm staying true to my word and growing my Blythe army at a head spinning speed here. Hehe! I'm loving it!!! :D Here are the pullring charms for my Blythes:

Each of these cabochons have some kind of a signifigance. * Marnie with her cotton candy pink hair gets a pastel tone flower fairy by one of my favourite illustrators Cicely Mary Barker. One of my favourite books in the world is one with poetry and art by her that I bought back in my UK days in Carlisle. Marnie is the fairest of them all, so it's only fitting she should have a fairy charm. * Fern gets a Toulouse Lotrec Char Noir pendant. I bought a print of this Chat Noir on my first trip to Paris and visited Musee D'Orsay with my friend. Fern's also a great admirer of art and a friend to all animals, so it suits her well. She will represent those aspects of me as well. ;) * Ethel, the girl who came uninvited, hehe! She will of course get a Mischief Managed charm, as that's exactly what she did! She also reminds me of Hermione in Harry Potter quite a bit. ;) Ethel's the witty one with a great lust for adventure. She's a bit of a tomboy style with tons of character. * Cherry gets a Merry-Go-Round! Red is my favourite colour, and it's her colour as well. As it was quite the ride working on my first custom Blythe, I think this charm suits her well, even if I could not find a cherry charm, like I'd originally planned.

* Ailis gets a mysterious Celt inspired charm to celebrate her Irish roots and her witch character. Ireland has been a dream of mine to visit forever (maybe next year!) and I'm huge fan of Irish music and Celtic stories. Ailis will represent those things for me.

* Prunella with her honey colours, will get a pastel charm with a music theme. She will represent my love for music. I hope to find some instruments for her to play in my photos then too! Stylistically she will be inspired by my love for Sarah Kay illustrations that I was already enchanted by as a child.

* Mona will get an exotic butterfly charm, being a dark little latin girl. She will remind me of my South American friends and my love for languages. I've yet to learn Spanish or Portugese, but maybe one day! She will be my happy, sunny girl, with loads of personality, I hope.

That's it for now! More updates to come next week, when hopefully my first custom doll will be ready!!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page