top of page

Custom Blythe #1-4 updates

I have some new stuff to share on all of my custom Blythe projects: #1 Cherry tests her hand sets and gets photographed with the original girls. #2 and #3 Ailis and Prunella get face-ups mock-ups. #3 Prunella sanding and carving work has started! #4 Mona has been sketched! #1 Cherry Cherry has been trying on her separate hands that came in a wonderful little box that is easy to store and handy to keep in the clothing box.

Now I can pick always the suitable handset to go with her outfit/theme of the photos and according to what she wants to be doing. There are some fabulous hands in there, so I totally recommend getting this hand set for your jointed bodies!! With the little fists, grip hands or relaxed hands it's much easier to dress the doll too without removing the hands. She can carry toys or bags in those wonderful grip hands! Very... handy!! Hehe! Monty also wanted to show off some of the Re-ment type pastries that came as a gift from Sweetiiger. They're so cute!!!

Cherry has done her first couple of photoshoots. Yesterday she did one with Marnie to see how she would look with the Blythes that have not undergone any makeovers. I think she went surprisingly well with Marnie. I don't think I'm going to have a problem photographing them together.

I also tried the sleepy eyes in photos and it works a treat! It's so cute to be able to have her eyes half closed or closed. It adds to her expressive potential a lot. I've also practiced using an old telescoping Tonner doll stand stick for the Blythes as support on photo shoots. It works wonderfully. I've tried to use it similarly to Dolly Treasures Eileen Lam's technique with her Little Mischiefs. If you have not checked out her Little Mischiefs yet, do so now! They are the most priceless, hilarious and inspiring Blythe photo you will ever see! #2 Ailis My custom Blythe Ailis remains unfinished. She's waiting for a face-up now and her eye chips. She will use her original Takara body, because with her hugely long floor length hair, I feel like she might be a bit too much to handle with the jointed body. So, once her eye chips arrive from Thailand, I will be able to finish her. I might start on her face-up today if the weather remains good. #3 Prunella In the meanwhile, I've started on Prunella already!! Prunella has undergone diassembling and first rounds of sanding and carving. Here's a pic of Prunella upon her arrival and after first round of sanding:

She's the same skintone, light tan, like Ailis, but with honey blond locks. Her hair is mid length, which does not show in the photo now unfortunately. Here's a pic of her after the first round of carving:

I still need to work quite a bit on her. The mouth/nose shape is what I want, but it's still rough around the edges and the corners of the mouth need to be a lot neater. I'll use a round diamond file with the dremel to get those sorted. I've been planning Prunella's eye chips and clothes. She would need some bright colours and I think I'm starting to form an idea about them. I've already talked to my hat maker extraordinaire for a custom hat for her like in the sketch I shared in the previous post. Prunella is getting a jointed body with the hand set A in light tan, that I found to be more useful from Cherry's lot. Corel Mock-ups: Ailis and Prunella I did really really super crude mock-ups on Corel over the carved face photos of Ailis and Prunella to plan the face-ups. Never mind about the execution, the idea was just to plan the blushing, what tones of pastels to use etc. Prunella will not get those green eyes (they're just from her original set that I photoshopped there), but Ailis will actually get these Sabparos orange ones.

#4 Mona Mona has not arrived yet and it will take a good couple of weeks probably before she does. However, I already sketched Mona the other night. I would really love to get her looking as close to this as possible.

Mona will be a more urban/contemporary dresser with bright colours and a sporty style. She also likes butterflies, so I hope to get someting butterfly themed for her in addition to ger butterfly pull charm. She will come with the jointed body, so I don't need to buy one separately for her. She has the darkest of the factory Blythes skintones. I've already ordered her one pair of dark brown eye chips, but I'll choose also some other colours for her for variation. I'll see if I can cook up a mood board for her as well.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page