top of page

Custom Blythe #2 Ailis is ready!

My grey haired little witch girl is ready!!

This is what's been done to her:

- carving of mouth, nose and surrounding areas, enlarging eye sockets

- sanding of entire face and a back plate

- new face-up using soft pastels and water colour pencils

- gaze correction

- boggled eyes fix

- sleepy eyes enabled

- old eye chips removed and replaced by four sets of Sabparos eyes

- eye lids sanded and painted

- New pull charms (forgot to take pics of those... sorry!)

Ailis's eye chips were chosen to reflect her magical powers. The light blue is her natural eye colour, but when she starts using magic, a bit of orange seeps into her eyes gradually. When she's casting a particularly mighty spell her eyes will turn black. She has a thick and gorgeous floor length hair. I decided to keep her with the Takara body, because it suits her character. I took some pics of her yesterday. It was rainy and lighting was pretty poor unfortunately, I think these will give an idea about her.

The carving work is far from perfect yet. I achieved pretty well the overall look I was after, but there's room for improvement in the detail work. I just don't seem to be able to get the finish as smooth as I'd like, particularly in hard access areas like inside the mouth and in the nostrils. Losts more practice is needed, but I don't think that's going to be a problem! Hehe! I love working on these girls and practicing the carving. It's the most exciting part of the customization process with these dolls for me.

Just before Ailis was ready I had time to take a group shot of my gang. I'll have to take a new one now! Hehe!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page