top of page

Custom Blythes #5-7: Boyd, Jessica and Shirley

I've just returned from my summer holiday trip and I'm back in the doll worlds already! I've ordered the parts for my custom Blythe projects 5, 6 and 7. There will be one boy and 2 girls! That will bring the total Blythe count in my collection to ten dolls. I think after these three I will rest my case then for a while, but these will keep me well entertained with the customizing for a bit yet. Hehe! # 5 BOYD -The Boy My custom Blythe #5 will be something different. He will be a boy and will be called Boyd. Boyd will have a Blythe head obviously, but hopefully carved to look more like a boy. He will have a normal skintone Licca boyfriend body and a bald scalp. I'll attach some velcros around his head to hold wigs well in place. Boyd should be the universal renaissance man, to cater for all "needs". Heheh! I don't intend to have many boys, but at least one should be fun. Because he's the only one for now at least, he needs to be able to transform in order to serve as the companion for all the different girls. He will get a couple of different wigs and four very different type eyes to be able change as much as possible. He needs one set of original eye chips and 3 sets of custom eye chips, all in different colours to provide as much variation as possible. He will be Dennis The Menace, Huckleberry Finn, Percy Jackson and Peter Pan all rolled into one! One of the looks might end up being a Ciel Phantomhive inspired from Kuroshitsuji's Black Butler comics, but I'm not sure about it yet. Adding a fantasy eye in the mix might limit his other looks and mess up some of the other plans, but I'll see about it then when he's in hand. I'm planning some clothing options for him already. Perhaps some of the Bratz boys clothes will work for him and I'll probably invest in overalls and a sweater set from TTYA. He will be able to share shoes with the girls of course, as long as they're not too girly in style. ;) The Blythe girls have so far had more personality traits, as well as more fixed looks and characters, but with Boyd, it'll be somewhat different. I'll treat him a bit more like my BJDs that change in each photo shoot and don't have fixed personalities. He's named Boy(d) even is to reflect his generic nature. He is first and foremost The Boy. He will get an earth cabochon to reflect the lack of nationality, or rather the multitude there of. He's a global citizen. His face-up will be rather neutral too and I'll try to choose the colour palette so that it'll go with any hair colour easily.

Boyd's Licca body has arrived already and Boyd's head is bringing a jointed girl body for one of the girl projects. The Licca body has funky rubbery bending arms, but stiff legs and it's remarkably similar in size to the Bratz boys body. Those knees might end up bugging me, but we'll see how I get along with him then. My other body option is a Azone boy body. #6 JESSICA - The Redhead Custom Blythe #6 will be a light tan (my favourite skintone!!!) red curly haired girl. I requested from the seller that she come with the jointed body and they agreed for a bit of extra. Prunella already brought the extra hands set A in the light tan, so Jessica will not need a set of her own, but the girls can share them. Jessica might get lots of freckles, a wider mouth and mischievous character. She will get a white rabbit cabochon for a pull ring, to reflect her lively nature. She's a busy bee, always in a hurry to do things, just like myself. I think she might get some green and blue eyes. I'm thinking of the possibility of having two of the same eye sets: side glancing and front glancing in each colour, so that I can during a photoshoot change her eye direction without it looking like she changed eye colour. Here's Jessica's original look with the Takara body that mine will not bring at all. Her rabbit cabochon is already waiting for her too. I'm not quite sure about these eyes here yet, but something blueish or greenish. She's getting a green school girl outfit as well.

#7 SHIRLEY - The Princess Shirley will be the princess of the squad. She is a normal skintone blonde, with straight hair and bangs. She comes with the jointed body and will be able to share Cherry's extra hand sets. I see her as a pastel dream of a girl. She will get different colour eyes from light pinks to dark browns. Shirley will get a unicorn cabochon for a pull ring, because she believes in fairy tales. She will need lots of toys; plushies and dolls, and of course the loads of pretty dresses. Pale pink is her favourite colour and she loves to dance.

NEW CLOTHES My new project dolls will not arrive before well into August probably, but in the meanwhile my current crew has been pampered with new clothes for everyone. My talented seamtress friend has been busy making clothes for my girls while I was travelling during my holiday. The little tops, dresses and hats are incredible and I just love each one of these outfit pieces so much!! The skirts on these pictures are from Ninabella on Ebay and socks/shoes mostly from CoolCat, but everything else is custom ordered from my friend.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page