top of page

Dollhouse Project: The Wishing Well

I've been collaborating with my father again on some doll props. This time we made an old fashioned wishing well for the outdoors dollhouse. I did some drawings and gave him the measurements, but he did all the carpentaring already early July. Now that I came back from my summer holiday trip, I finally had the time to sand it and paint it. I had a kitteh assistant working hard on it too. I only did one very thin layer of paint on it, and more like rubbed it on rather than properly painting it, so that the wooded textures looms through. It goes pretty well with the rustic, old fashioned feel of the dollhouse, I think. I quite like the effect and how it turned out.

Dad even made the wishing well "work"! I did not expect the spindle to work and to actually be able to lower the bucket with it, but I can!!! It's got a lovely delicate handle, just perfect for the dolls. The roof is water proof, so it doesn't matter if a little bit of rain falls on it on occasion, but I will store it in the warehouse to make sure it preserves well. The roof is just high enough, so that my Blythe girls can sit on the well base, which is awesome for photography! The base has a hole in the middle for the bucket to go through and a lid with a handle (so that the girl don't fall in there. Hehe!) It's a marvellous addition to my dollhouse milieu.

Here's how the dollhouse area looks like now:

Fern already went to familiarize herself with the surroundings and had lots of fun running around in the field of flowers and posing with the wishing well.

Fern has a brand new dress and hair pin too custom made by my seamstress friend.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page