top of page

Tilly - The Works!

My custom girl #8, Tilly is ready!! For the first time ever, I attempted teeth. Hehe! That was a daunting prospect. I thought it would be hard to get them to look even borderline natural and I was not wrong. Oh, it was challenging alright. Many customizers poke a hole through the mouth and build epoxy teeth on the inside of the face plate. I however wanted my girl to have a bit of a different expression, like she's biting her lower lip just a little bit with her front teeth. So, I went with carving the teeth out of the lower lip part in the original sculpt. She also got a birdlike beak of a little nose and quite a bit of plastic taken off of the surroundings of her mouth and nose. Here's how Tilly ended up looking!

I was relatively pleased with the way the carving turned out. I wanted a wondering, a bit timid expression on her, so I think that was achieved. She also needed to look a bit younger than my other Blythe girls. I tried to enhance that effect with some strategically placed eye brows.

The new type of neck knob on Tilly's jointed body had two different slots from which I might've attached it to her head. I decided to go with the higher slot to gain length to her neck. The lower slot might've been more stable, but I loved the look of her with the longer neck, so I took a chance with it. I added a thick iron wire around the lower slot to keep the head more stable and it seems to work a treat so far. Here's how she looks with her body now:

The eye chip show (1-3 by StrawberryDolls, set 4 by SugarRayDolls) :

Her pull charm cabochon says: "Though she be but little, she is fierce." That describes her inner strength. She may seem fragile and look a bit baffled on the outside, but she's stronger than anyone thinks. She's a survivor with an inquisitive mind. Her two sets of particularly special gleaming eyes signify that she sees things beyond the normal realm of things and has an innate ability to understand life's fine undercurrents and interpret the subtle strands of universal knowledge.

Here are just a couple of snapshots of her wearing her very own, brand new, custom apron with a big pocket. Tilly likes to 'collect' things. She has a tendency to gather stuff in her pockets. She likes her apron, because with it she has a pocket to go with every dress. :) It was so late by the time she was finished that I didn't have any daylight to take proper pics of her, but I'll take some more soon.

Tilly already made friends with Cherry, who's usually always the first to welcome new girls. Cherry is a sweet, well mannered girl, so Tilly immediately took to her. ;)

The works done on Tilly:

- sanding of face plate and headback with 3M sponges

- carving of mouth, teeth, nose, surroundings of the face

- boggled eyes

- up-rolled eyes

- sleepy eye fix with a new cord

- eye lash trim

- hair cut, bangs trimmed to new style

- new face-up with acrylics and soft pastels, sealed with MSC

- all eye chips replaced by customs ones from StrwberryDolls and SugarRayDolls

- body changed for jointed, flat chested, shorter body

- neck of the body heat modded to straighter posture

- new pull charm cabochons

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page