top of page

Shibajuku Girls Know How It's Done!

I got a Shibajuku Girls Shizuka for a Christmas present week ago. I fell for her so much that when I found a brunette one at the local mall, I could not resist dropping her in my cart! Namika has now joined Shizuka and they'll be best friends forever now, I'm sure. ;)

Earlier this week, I gave both the girls' hairs a hot water treatment and they became so silky and sweet. They're such a joy to style now. The girls dug into the Blythe and Pullip outfit pile and found some Japanese street style inspired outfits for themselves. I took some photos of the girls with a backdrop canvas and some garden miniatures.

About the clothes

Blythe hats fit the Shibajuku Girls perfectly. The Blythe tops are a bit small, particularly the sleeves are too short, but Pullip shirts might work. Most Blythe skirts seem to work well and Blythe/Pullip shoes that I have from CoolCat store are a great fit for these girls as well. They have longer legs than Blythes, so Pullip socks work better for them.

Look at those brilliant big eyes!! I can't resist them!! Hehe!

Posing

The Shibajuku Girls really do pose marvelously for playline dolls. Their joints hold well and the arms and legs have a good range of mobility. The wrists are articulated as well. The dolls do not stand on their own. They are very top heavy with their massive hairs and big heads, just like Pullips and Blythes. I've used a good old metal stick behind the back trick here to balance them for the photos. I wouldn't have minded if the dolls had brought stands, but unfortunately they didn't.

This here is Shizuka:

And here is Namika:

I had an absolute blast taking these pics of my Shibajuku Girls! I can see myself being well entertained re-styling and photographing these dolls, both indoors and outdoors. Their eyes are super fun and look impressive in photos. Their make-ups are funkily remeniscient of the 60's Mod era as well and I'm thinking I'll be styling them eventually with some Twiggy inspired fashions as well. The make-up style is modern, but fantasy styles are not out of the options for these two either. I can't wait to try some hair-dos for them as well! ;)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page