top of page

Jecci Five vs. Icy Doll

After having seen some lovely custom Icy and Jecci dolls on FB, I thought I'd give these darlings a go myself. I got a package the other day containing my first ever experience on Jecci Five doll, as well as my second Icy doll. My first Icy is still under works (at carving stage now!).

Here's Jecci Five on the left and Icy doll on the right. Both are pretty enough, but let's have a run down on my impressions on the two:

Body

Jecci came with a Takara body and Icy on this jointed body, that I think they call Fortune Days one.

Hair

In their hair, there is a definite quality difference. Jecci's hair fiber is far inferior to Icy's, who has a silky gorgeous hair. Jecci's hair is some sort of poor quality tangly nylon type stuff, much stiffer and does not comb out smoothly at all. It's a beautiful dark red tone though. I'll see if I can condition or other ways treat it to co-operate yet.

Skin tone

This particular Jecci at least is quite a bit pinker of her skin tone than Icy. My Jecci's legs and arms were funkily mismatching to the torso, but more about that later. I'm suspecting my Jecci has been exposed to sunlight for a longer period of time somewhere along the line and gotten just properly yellowed. Not that I mind, she'll get the works and she wasn't expensive.

Another thing was (I also don't know if it's just my Jecci, or whether this is a Jecci-thing) her eyeballs were considerably more yellow than the Icy or Blythe ones.

It was sure interesting to compare Jecci and Icy side by side. To be honest at first I'd thought they looked awfully similar when just viewing random photos online. They both seemed a bit more box faced and less elegant than Blythe to my eye. Now I have a bit of different view to them. I rather think there's plenty of potential there. They are similar, but there are some differences as well if you really look at the features. The most obvious differences are in the mouth and eye lids/lack there of, the nose as well, but the chin is somewhat different too, definitely.

Here's a photo of them without face-ups and sanded. You can see how different they are after all.

Here are the head backs with the text identifying them.

My Jecci Five came with a bit of a yellowed body, but the seller had graciously included a replacement body for her in the parcel, which was nice. However, I'm thinking of equipping her with a jointed body.

Off to customizing then!! Yay!!! :D

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page