top of page

The 3 Girls Get LBH'ed!

For the past two evenings I've been working on my Jecci Five and my two Icy dolls! I've done the sanding, the carving and their face-ups. They'll still need their lid works, the eyes done and such, but the girls should be ready to be put back together tomorrow.

Here's Nikki (Jecci Five):

I wanted to preserve some of the signature Jecci features, so the carving was rather light. I see Nikki as a bit more of a mature girl, not so baby faced like a lot of my little big heads.

This one is Ming (Icy doll):

Here as well, I wanted to preserve the signature Icy thing and only did a bit of carving around the nose, mouth and eye area. I also wanted to see what could be made of Icy by mainly just drastically changing the face-up. For Ming, I wanted a bit of an Asian look.

And this little one is Elodie (Icy doll):

With Elodie I wanted to see just how different I could make Icy from the original look at my currect skill level. I took tons off of her face. I reduced the nose by half, completely reshaped the lips, narrowed her jawline, took the eye lids off... and loads more.

I think she turned out quite different, particularly with the face-up added to the mix. I wanted her to look as innocent and cute as I could make her, also more child-like than Icy usually looks. I used really quite subtle and soft tones for her. I debated for a long while whether to give her freckles or not, but decided against them in the end. The face-up style is more towards the BJD kind than what I usually go with for my Blythes. I tried for the first time carving lines on the lips for more realism. Without the face-up, it looked a bit weird, but with the face-up I thought it worked really quite well then.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page