top of page

Custom doll #17: Chapman (Icy male)

I've made my second male little big head this weekend!! I used an Icy doll base with a curly short brown hair and the male body. I managed to snatch the base foll up at a great sale price last month, so I could not resist trying to make another boy for my collection. :) This guy is called Chapman, my custom doll #17. If you're wondering where LBH #16 is, well that one is also a boy, but a Blythe boy called Sonny. He's been ready for a while now otherways, but he's still waiting for his scalp to arrive. The scalp seems to be taking some kind of a donkey ride... or maybe they sent it with pigeon post. I don't know, but back to the new chap! ;)

Here's the custom works rundown on Chapman:

The original doll (came blank) and the face plate after the first round of sanding.

I did some extensive carving. Opened up the eyes and reshaped them. Mouth was opened through. He got a chin dimple and a new nose area. I even shaved down his cheeks and chin.

And there he is with a face-up now! He's Henrietta and Daniella's brother, so he got a similar colour palette and freckles.

Here are Chapman's eye chip selection. First pair is from NatVDolls, the other two custom ones are from Strawberry Dolls. The last brown pair is from his original set.

No pic of his eye lids, you say. Yeah, you know my epic inability of come up with cool eye lid designs, well this is where I really hit the stone wall. Eye lid work for a boy!?!?! Total blank there. So what we ended up with was just that. Total blank. Nothing. Zip zero nada. I just sanded them and decided to be done with it. Hehehe! Works for me!

Chapman's pull charms are also taking that same donkey ride as Sonny's scalp. In other words he's still waiting for his cabochons to arrive. I'll update, once they arrive.

Just like his sisters, Chapman got yoghurt container teeth. It's a family thing! Heheheh! I just cut and shaped them, gloss varnished them and hot glue gunned them in. ;) I left one tooth a bit longer than the other for a bit of a cuteness factor and a gap around the front teeth for the same reason.

What's been done:

- face and back plates sanded

- nostrils and mouth, surrounding areas carved

- eye sockets and eye lids on face plate reshaped

- new face-up

- teeth sculpted and installed

- sleepy eyes and boggled eyes

- 3 pairs of new eye chips

- male jointed body

- new pull charms (coming!)

*There he is - all ready to take on the world!

And he did just that, the very same evening! Here he is exploring the garden with Monty.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page